California SR22 Insurance
- California SR22 Insurance
You’ve been driving through Orange County with an expired driver’s license. You’re pulled over and required to get California SR22 insurance.
With the help of your auto insurance company, you can have your license reinstated. The SR22 form serves as proof that you meet your state’s minimum requirement for auto liability insurance.
What other reasons can lead to the need for California SR22 insurance? Find out below.
Who Needs the California SR-22 Insurance?
In different states, the SR-22 insurance protocols vary. However, the reasons for filing an SR22 are usually similar. If you’ve been found guilty of any of the following, you need the California SR22 insurance:
- Your California driver’s license is expired
- You’re an uninsured driver involved in an accident
- You have been found driving an uninsured vehicle
- You’re under strict insurance supervision
- You’ve failed to pay child support
- Many unpaid fines are found in your record
- You fit the description of a “high risk” driver with a history of accidents and reckless driving
- Your license has been revoked or suspended
- You provided false insurance documents
Apart from the cases above, if you failed to request a DMV DUI hearing or lost it, you would need the California SR22 form.
However, you shouldn’t bother about this insurance if you don’t intend to get back on the road. But if you’d be driving someone else’s car, you would need to get a non-owner’s SR22 policy.
Let’s go on now to the different types of SR insurance in California.
Types of California SR22 Insurance
In California, the main SR22 insurance policies are:
As the owner of a car in California, the state of CA requires you to own auto insurance. But more than that, you need the Owner’s SR22 form as a certificate of financial responsibility (CFR) to protect your personal vehicle.
For people who don’t own cars but drive, the operator only or non-owners insurance policy is a necessity. Even though this form also meets the state minimum requirements, it is usually less expensive than the owner’s insurance policy.
If you drive anything with less than four wheels, the motorcycle insurance provides the SR22 insurance rider coverage.
Note that you can get any of these insurance policies only through licensed insurance providers in California.
California Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Enter ZIP for average rate. Then enter Age, Gender and Coverage Level for customized rate.
SR-22 Filing Terms in California
Below are the primary steps you need to take to file the California SR22:
- Contact your auto insurance provider and inform them of your SR22 requirement
- If your company doesn’t issue SR22, you can find another company through the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan (CAARP)
- The provider will confirm the reason for the SR22 insurance in your DMV record and commence the filing process
- The liability insurance limits in the state of California for all vehicle drivers (owners or operators) are 15/30/5 i.e. $15,000 for causing bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for any physical injuries in two or more people, and $5,000 in case of property damage
- Your insurance company might raise the cost of your auto insurance depending on factors such as the reason for the issuance, age, gender, marital status, driving history, etc.
- You are expected to hold the SR22 insurance for three to five years. Nonetheless, lapses during this period might result in a repeated case of suspension or revocation.
How much does California SR22 Insurance Cost?
The cost of SR22 insurance in California varies depending on insurance companies.
Usually, the price ranges between $300 and $800 which excludes the good driver discounts (for the next ten years).Additionally, the filing cost is anywhere from $25-$50 and the DMV reissue fee of $125.
Get in touch with us at SRInsurance.us to enjoy a cheaper, easier, and more rewarding filing procedure.